talking indirectly through films

“I’ve found out more about my husband’s combat experience from watching war movies with him than from any conversation,’ Army wife Lily Burana wrote back in November.  I missed her article last fall, but  I crawled my way back to it this morning via a Tweet from Intersections International that took me to a blog by Scott Thompson that linked to Burana’s piece in the New York Times.   Burana’s words then linked in my brain to the memory of our screening for military chaplains last May.  A Navy chaplain stood up at the end of the film and, tears in his eyes, said he had never been able to tell his wife and family about his service.  Now thanks to Chaplains Under Fire he had a way.

Back to Chaplains Under Fire home page

Leave a comment

Filed under chaplains, military, veterans

Leave a Reply

